SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post Reply
User avatar
The_Nephilim
Certif-Eyed!
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D Projector Setup
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by The_Nephilim »

Hey Guys to anybody out there who still may play some old Glide games and Stereo unable to work under a newer system w/nVidia 3D Vidion I think I may have found a fix.. it is called Sweet FX and adds dx9 bloom effects and such to games..

Well I still Fly TAW(Total Air War) and old F22 Flight Simulator but it is dx6 and S3D no longer worked as we all know..

Well I just found out about Sweet FX and figured I would try it mostly for the Bloom Effects and getting S3D working was a total surprise..

Well this may be a fix for some older glide games that you use a wrapper like DGVoodoo on so give it a shot and report if it worked or not..

I can say for sure it works 100% in Total Air War cool!!
Intel i7 9700K @ 4.8GHZ / MSI MPG Z390 Motherboard / G. SKILL 32GB 3200MHZ Ram / Asus 1080GTX / SoundBlaster Z / Samsung Odyssey + VR Headset / HOTAS Cougar / Thrustmaster MFD's

WiredEarp
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)
Posts: 1498
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:47 pm

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by WiredEarp »

I might give this a go for Screamer Rally, thanks The_Nephilim!

User avatar
The_Nephilim
Certif-Eyed!
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D Projector Setup
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by The_Nephilim »

yes I would especially if it was a glide game.. TAW was both DX and Glide.. I used the DGVoodo 1.50 wrapper just in case you are wondering.. I could try it with nGlide as well but I was totally surprised when I saw the double image without my glasses..

Been 2 Years since I seen that sim in S3D cant wait till we fly next wed..
Intel i7 9700K @ 4.8GHZ / MSI MPG Z390 Motherboard / G. SKILL 32GB 3200MHZ Ram / Asus 1080GTX / SoundBlaster Z / Samsung Odyssey + VR Headset / HOTAS Cougar / Thrustmaster MFD's

User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11394
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by cybereality »

Oh man! I remember Screamer. That game was sick! Talk about a blast from the past.

logicalChimp
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:48 pm

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by logicalChimp »

Screamer (and Screamer 2) are both available from GoG (gog.com) iirc. Not sure if they have 3d options tho :D

Personally, I don't think I played Screamer - but I spent far too much time playing Screamer 2 networked (even with the glitches / crashes / etc). Might have to give this a try over the xmas break - Screamer 2 in 3D should be a blast :)

WiredEarp
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)
Posts: 1498
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:47 pm

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by WiredEarp »

Screamer Rally (which I think is Screamer 3) was the best racing game back in the day (under 3DFx anyway, software render sucked).

Those games were all early LAN classics!

User avatar
The_Nephilim
Certif-Eyed!
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:38 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D Projector Setup
Location: 3rd Stone from the Sun

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by The_Nephilim »

I just bought M1 Tank Platoon 2 should see if S3D really does work under any glide game ..;)
Intel i7 9700K @ 4.8GHZ / MSI MPG Z390 Motherboard / G. SKILL 32GB 3200MHZ Ram / Asus 1080GTX / SoundBlaster Z / Samsung Odyssey + VR Headset / HOTAS Cougar / Thrustmaster MFD's

Reticuli
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:27 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: Head Mounted Display (HMD)

Re: SWEET FX made S3D work in Total Air War under Glide..

Post by Reticuli »

Not actually in stereoscopic. It's doubling the 3d rendering, but appears to be a single plane at a distance your Nvidia depth setting dictates. If anyone has ever gotten TAW in real S3D, please let me know. bummed out
X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles V13 http://library.avsim.net/search.php?Sea ... D=miscmisc" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply

Return to “General Hardware & Software Technical Support”