Outlast won't show up on DK2

Case by case Vireio Perception game support discussion. One thread per game!
Post Reply
Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

Hi,

I'm trying to play Outlast on my Oculus DK2 using Perception 3.0, but it just won't show up on my DK2. The only thing I see is my desktop wallpaper.

I have a AMD processor and graphic card running under a Windows 8 64bit.

I've done everything the manual says about Outlast. I have both copied manually and through DLLinstaller, but still the game is not transferred to my Oculus. My Oculus is set as Extended. My main display is my computer with a resolution of 1366 x 768 (can't get more than that) and my second display is my Oculus with a Landscape (flipped) orientation. First, I open up "Perception 3.0" and choose Extended Mode with Secondary Monitor : Oculus DK2. Then, I launch my Outlast game. The game runs fine, but I don't see anything on the Oculus. Even when trying to get a Anaglyph or 3D image of the game using Perception, I just simply get the regular game :/

What might be the issue? I really want to experience this scary game with my Oculus. I'm tired of trying demos :cry:

User avatar
DrBeef
Vireio Perception Developer
Vireio Perception Developer
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:20 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: Head Mounted Display (HMD)
Location: London

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by DrBeef »

The 3.0.0 alpha only works with the rift in Direct Mode.. it sounds like you are trying to use a combination of extended mode on the rift and direct mode in Vireio.. you shouldn't be able to see any wallpaper if the rift is in direct mode.

I hope that sorts it!

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

DrBeef wrote:The 3.0.0 alpha only works with the rift in Direct Mode.. it sounds like you are trying to use a combination of extended mode on the rift and direct mode in Vireio.. you shouldn't be able to see any wallpaper if the rift is in direct mode.

I hope that sorts it!
I tried using previous version of perception and got the same results.

So, should I try my DK2 as "Direct HMD Access" and "Extended mode" on Vireio?

EDIT: The rift on direct and Vireio on direct or extended, the rift doesn't show anything. The light keeps yellow.
Last edited by Pabro on Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

No matter what I do, I keep seeing my wallpaper on my Oculus DK2. I have tried every single mode and still can't get the game on my VR. It seems Perception isn't doing anything to the game whatsoever. I can't even get a Anaglyph image of the game on my monitor.

:? any help, please?

User avatar
DrBeef
Vireio Perception Developer
Vireio Perception Developer
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:20 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: Head Mounted Display (HMD)
Location: London

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by DrBeef »

DId you use the symlink installer to create the injection DLLs in the game's folder?, and you are using the 64-bit version of Outlast?

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

I have used both installer and manually, none of them worked.

And yes, I believe so. How can I tell if it is the 64-bit version, though?

User avatar
DrBeef
Vireio Perception Developer
Vireio Perception Developer
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:20 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: Head Mounted Display (HMD)
Location: London

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by DrBeef »

Could you download a little tool called TraceSpy, and run it and click start, then try running Outlast attempting to get Vireio to inject, and post the output in trace s[y here please?

There might be a clue in there why it isn't injecting.

You want to have the rift in direct mode, and vireio perception selection Direct-To-HMD.

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

Here:

25 108,10947032 Perception HIJACKDLL checking process:
26 108,10959856 Perception Perception.exe
27 108,11021411 Perception C:\Users\Pablo\Downloads\Oculus Rift\perception3\perception216\Perception\
28 108,11038288 Perception C:\Users\Pablo\Downloads\Oculus Rift\perception3\perception216\Perception\
29 108,11211104 Perception Game profile not found for: Perception.exe
30 108,11282047 Perception Current Path:
31 108,11294409 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\
32 108,11332471 Perception Error creating Registry.
33 108,11340524 Perception Success opening key.
34 108,11360427 Perception Success writing to Registry.
35 108,11367711 Perception Success closing key.
36 108,11376226 Perception HIJACKDLL hook installed.
37 108,13624274 Perception Create Window
38 108,15677192 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\
39 108,15856113 Perception Load the bitmap
40 108,15867295 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\cfg\users.xml
41 108,16012565 Perception Load the specific user!!!
42 108,16025082 Perception C:\Users\Pablo\AppData\Local\Oculus\ProfileDB.json
43 108,16098640 Perception Load Oculus User Profile.
44 108,16129931 Perception {
45 108,16149115 Perception Oculus
46 108,16155374 Perception Profile
47 108,16163735 Perception Users
48 108,16170609 Perception [{
49 108,16178713 Perception User
50 108,16188767 Perception Custom
51 108,16195590 Perception Name
52 108,16202207 Perception Custom
53 108,16210158 Perception }]
54 108,16223443 Perception TaggedData
55 108,16229958 Perception [{
56 108,16237550 Perception tags
57 108,16244116 Perception [{
58 108,16251708 Perception Product
59 108,16258273 Perception RiftDK2
60 108,16265609 Perception }
61 108,16272175 Perception {
62 108,16279664 Perception Serial
63 108,16287769 Perception 206M2P00VQAN
64 108,16295001 Perception }]
65 108,16309416 Perception vals
66 108,16314494 Perception {
67 108,16322445 Perception DefaultUser
68 108,16328959 Perception Custom
69 108,16337987 Perception CenteredFromWorld
70 108,16344964 Perception [0
71 108,16352350 Perception }
72 108,16365020 Perception }
73 108,16371381 Perception {
74 108,16378768 Perception tags
75 108,16385693 Perception [{
76 108,16393849 Perception User
77 108,16400209 Perception Custom
78 108,16407545 Perception }]
79 108,16420318 Perception vals
80 108,16427653 Perception {
81 108,16434270 Perception Gender
82 108,16440836 Perception Male
83 108,16448479 Perception PlayerHeight
84 108,16455301 Perception 1.780000
85 108,16517729 Perception EyeHeight
86 108,16525628 Perception 1.676672
87 108,16534041 Perception IPD
88 108,16540658 Perception 0.064000
89 108,16775850 Perception NeckEyeDistance
90 108,16802268 Perception [0.080500
91 108,16824171 Perception EyeToNoseDist
92 108,16831199 Perception [0.032000
93 108,16840073 Perception }
94 108,16852025 Perception }
95 108,16858026 Perception {
96 108,16864951 Perception tags
97 108,16871107 Perception [{
98 108,16877878 Perception User
99 108,16883777 Perception Custom
100 108,16892446 Perception }
101 108,16898448 Perception {
102 108,16905219 Perception Product
103 108,16911169 Perception RiftDK2
104 108,16917940 Perception }]
105 108,16929277 Perception vals
106 108,16935535 Perception {
107 108,16942152 Perception EyeCup
108 108,16948102 Perception A
109 108,16955181 Perception EyeReliefDial
110 108,16960413 Perception 5
111 108,16968056 Perception MaxEyeToPlateDist
112 108,16974366 Perception [0.037650
113 108,16980932 Perception CustomEyeRender
114 108,16987190 Perception true
115 108,16994628 Perception }
116 108,17006221 Perception }]
117 108,17027252 Perception }
118 108,17043718 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\cfg\users.xml
119 108,17118200 Perception Load the specific profile!!!
120 108,17125484 Perception Save the settings to profile!!!
121 108,17725032 Perception Using Rift Profile:
122 108,17741241 Perception Custom
123 108,17755143 Perception Male
124 108,17760477 Perception RiftDK2
125 108,17771352 Perception IPD: 0.064
126 108,17779303 Perception PlayerHeight: 1.78
127 108,33846806 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\
128 112,68842387 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\
129 112,69832606 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\
130 112,70406608 Perception C:\Pablo\Perception\
131 162,21354687 OVRServer_x64 [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).
132 164,85197200 OculusConfigUtil [From Service] [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).
133 174,78519484 OVRServer_x64 [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).
134 174,78562983 OculusConfigUtil [From Service] [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).
135 184,42692087 OVRServer_x64 [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).
136 184,43084963 OculusConfigUtil [From Service] [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).

User avatar
DrBeef
Vireio Perception Developer
Vireio Perception Developer
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:20 am
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: Head Mounted Display (HMD)
Location: London

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by DrBeef »

That is hard to diagnose, it isn't even detecting the game as running. Can you make sure you have done the following please?

1. Install the Oculus Runtime 0.6.0.1, This is critical, it no longer works with earlier versions
2. Set the Rift into DirectMode in the Rift Display Utility, ensure it is turned on (showing orange light)
3. Unpack Vireio Perception 3.0.0 alpha to a new folder (C:\Perception3.0.0alpha is my suggestion)
4. Run the Vireio Perception application at least once and close it down (this will set up the registry links to the new folder)
5. Run the Symlink installer tool and ensure it creates symlinks in the 64-bit folder of your outlast installation
6. Run Vireio Perception again, and ensure it is set to Direct-to-HMD mode (extended no longer works)
7. Run the game

If you could make absolutely certain you have followed each of the above steps and perform another trace spy log.

Make sure you have removed any old instances and versions of vireio and that the symlinks in the game's executable folder point to the d3d9.dll (and the others) in your new Vireio folder.

Sounds like a faff, it shouldn't, but there is something that isn't quite right and is causing it not to inject at all.

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

I did all the steps you mentioned. I got the Vireio Logo while playing the game and a green menu appeared. However, my DK2 remained black and with a yellow light.

When triying to make a trace my program did not responded but I was able to get this screenshot:

Image

After a while the program got back but the log was too big to post, along with the image above there were various loops of these:

499 12,86151138 OLGame Failed: m_pOwningDevice->getActual()->UpdateSurface hr = 0x8876086c

Also, the game ran very laggy when normally it runs at full speed.

User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11394
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by cybereality »

Those OVR errors usually mean you have an old video card (Nvidia pre-Kepler or AMD pre-GCN) which won't work with the 0.6 Oculus runtime.

Though I find it strange if you only see it on this app. What happens if you try the demo scene in the config util?

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

cybereality wrote:Those OVR errors usually mean you have an old video card (Nvidia pre-Kepler or AMD pre-GCN) which won't work with the 0.6 Oculus runtime.

Though I find it strange if you only see it on this app. What happens if you try the demo scene in the config util?
It doesn't show up. The screen stays black.

My video card is AMD Radeon(TM) R5 Graphics.

User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11394
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by cybereality »

Unfortunately, I don't think that will work. Sorry.

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

cybereality wrote:Unfortunately, I don't think that will work. Sorry.
No game would work then? :(

User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11394
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm
Which stereoscopic 3D solution do you primarily use?: S-3D desktop monitor

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by cybereality »

Possibly. Well AMD GCN cards should work, and the R5 is GCN, but it's pretty low-end.

I mean, have you tried real VR compatible games like those on Oculus Share? If nothing else works, then I would think it's your computer.

I'd try switching from Direct to Extended Mode or vice-versa.

You may also have some luck if you turn it to Extended Mode, open a game, if you get a black screen, close the game, open the Config Util and stop and restart the service, then open the game again.

Pabro
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Re: Outlast won't show up on DK2

Post by Pabro »

cybereality wrote:Possibly. Well AMD GCN cards should work, and the R5 is GCN, but it's pretty low-end.

I mean, have you tried real VR compatible games like those on Oculus Share? If nothing else works, then I would think it's your computer.

I'd try switching from Direct to Extended Mode or vice-versa.

You may also have some luck if you turn it to Extended Mode, open a game, if you get a black screen, close the game, open the Config Util and stop and restart the service, then open the game again.
Yes, the official games on Oculus Share work flawlessly. But I really wanted to play a good horror game with my Oculus :cry:
I've tried many methods now, even setting DK2 as my primary display... but nothing. Will have to get a new computer, I guess.
Thanks for your time.

Post Reply

Return to “Game Support”