Iz3d. Zalman or DLP Projector for 3d?

krayn
One Eyed Hopeful

Iz3d. Zalman or DLP Projector for 3d?

Post by krayn »

Hi,
i'm new to 3d games, i only tried the nvidia stereo driver with anaglyph glasses, i want to buy some hardware for play in a good 3d.

I don't know wich setup is better for a very good 3d experience, what do u suggest to buy?
I noticed while playng in anaglyph a very big drop of fps, like in Need for speed pro street. In "2d" i play at like 50-60 Frame but when i put anaglyph mode on, the fps go down to like 15-20, it will be the same with other 3d setup?

Thank you, and sorry about my bad english :P
Fabio.
LukePC1
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)

Re: Iz3d. Zalman or DLP Projector for 3d?

Post by LukePC1 »

krayn wrote:Hi,
In "2d" i play at like 50-60 Frame but when i put anaglyph mode on, the fps go down to like 15-20, it will be the same with other 3d setup?
For S-3D have to be rendered two different perspectives/frames. That is about twice the amount of calculations compared to only one perspective.
From 50 to below 20 is a serious hit! Did you use a program (FRAPs) for that or 'just' your Eyes? Maybe it's 'just' half the framerate :roll:
The human eye can not realy tell the difference after a certain point. Then it's smooth.
FPS depend on resolution, too --> Low res = High FPS

Maybe you'd like to use a different language. Here you can find the language forums ;-)
http://www.mtbs3d.com/phpBB/viewforum.php?f=40

PS: Anaglyph needs additional calculation (to make it anaglyph), so it might be even less than half the FPS

To hardware: In the moment it's mainly a problem of drivers - so a projector is only good, if you've got 'old' hardware (gf7) and games.
Iz3D seems to work quite good at the moment.
Zalman will run on the nvidia driver, which is to be released somewhen. Unfortunatly Nvidia was not that trustworthy with S-3D drivers in the last (15) months.
Play Nations at WAR with this code to get 5.000$ as a Starterbonus:
ayqz1u0s