[DIY] - S3D Animated Desktop in Vista32!

Tutorials on how to create your own rigs, pics, movies, and everything that has to do with S-3D at home!
pixel67
Sharp Eyed Eagle!

[DIY] - S3D Animated Desktop in Vista32!

Post by pixel67 »

I stumbled across something kind of cool today... Running a screensaver on your desktop in S3D! This isn't a prerendered Dreamscene but an active render on your desktop. The ability to have an animated desktop in Vista 32 was an "Easter Egg" that has been circulating around the net for sometime so I thought I would give it a shot with the IZ3D 1.10B drivers and it works like a charm with my DLP3D HDTV. There are two ways to accomplish this:

1. Manually type it into a command prompt
2. Create a batch file that does most of the work for you ( I am not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination so I am sure the more tech savvy people here will have a better way of doing this)

First, a couple of prerequisites... Make sure you have the latest IZ3D drivers installed and set to "Enabled". Make sure the screensaver you wish to use utilizes DirectX so IZ3D drivers can do their magic. Make sure your screensaver is installed in the Windows/System32 directory. Adjust IZ3D settings within IZ3D control panel within the global profile. I would suggest convergence of 10-15. Have Task Manager open so you can kill the screensaver process when you want to return to your normal desktop. The text in the bat file can be overwritten if you install a different screensaver. Aquatica 3D is a great one and i am working on AtiBacteria now (couple of issues with that one). Make sure you don't have any spaces in the filenames.

1. Manually type it into a command prompt
Open a Command Window
Type in the full filename of the screensaver you wish to see, followed by a single space, then type in the following without the quotes "/p65552" and hit enter. Your done! Example below:

Ribbons.scr /p65552

2. Create a batch file that does the work for you.