Emulate Oculus Rift Input in order to play the games?

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
a-k-m
One Eyed Hopeful

Emulate Oculus Rift Input in order to play the games?

Post by a-k-m »

Hello,

Oculus Rift has some interesting demos and games.
I just bought me the google cardboard and played around with its apps. Then I started playing around with Trinus Gyre, Freepie, Tridef, vireio and kainy.

Everything works fine, except I can't get most games to run with side-by-side 3d, just Trinus fake3d.

Recently, I just downloaded plenty of Oculus Rift Demos which seem to run in unity Game Engine.
In some of them, I get the error message, that the Oculus Rift should be connected and I'm not able to do anything.
In others head-tracking doesn't work neither, but I can move around.

Unfortunately, I don't have much clue about this technical subject.

Is it possible to emulate the Oculus Rift input in order to "tell" the game that it is connected?

It could probably work with Freepie, while freepie is sending the coordinates from the smartphone as a "oculus rift device".

Or is it just not possible?

I hope you guys could help me out on this. I tried to search for some threads of the same kind, but it's all too technical, I don't have the necessary know-how.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Kind Regards
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed

Re: Emulate Oculus Rift Input in order to play the games?

Post by CyberVillain »

Only way to support all oculus enabled games would be to spoof the HID device and emulate the data so that the oculus runtime is fooled. You also need to spoof the EDID id etc. I have looked if there is any good fake HID drivers around but i havent found any useful info.

vjoy could probably be rewritten to support any generic HID device (Today it only support joysticks).
WiredEarp
Golden Eyed Wiseman! (or woman!)

Post by WiredEarp »