John Carmack confirms 2nd dev kit is in the works

Marulu
Certif-Eyed!

John Carmack confirms 2nd dev kit is in the works

Post by Marulu »

Yeah, you heard right, John Carmack just confirmed, a second dev kit is in the works, in an Engadget interview.
You can take a look at the interview here: http://www.engadget.com/2013/10/18/ocul ... interview/

Visit my website! http://mushroomtomatoes.com/
RikuDesu
One Eyed Hopeful

Re: John Carmack confirms 2nd dev kit is in the works

Post by RikuDesu »

Just read it. I hope they limit the first batches to those who actually develop or at least own a rift though.
Marulu
Certif-Eyed!

Post by Marulu »

RikuDesu wrote:Just read it. I hope they limit the first batches to those who actually develop or at least own a rift though.
Well, you never know who actually is a indie dev and who is not.
But if they make some system which allows you to verify yourself as a Dev, I would be all for the restriction.

Because if they don´t do that more consumers are only going to buy the devkit and not the finished product.
(In case there are not many differences between the two.)

If all of the normal consumers would order one, it also would make real devs that need it wait longer.

blazespinnaker
Certif-Eyed!

Post by blazespinnaker »

Interesting ... I wonder if they're going to come out with their own gaming console / smartphone.

That makes a lot of sense. Ambitious too. Carmack is the dude to do it. They're going to have to staff up a bit though, and not just for head tracking.

So... in a way, I'm right. Smartphones ARE going to compete with the Oculus Rift, so OR is going to get there first.
Gear VR: Maybe OVR isn't so evil after all!
RikuDesu
One Eyed Hopeful

Post by RikuDesu »

As long as they keep nvidia sheild streaming or equivalent, I still want to be able to play games Ahaha. The problem with all the VA tech is the cost it takes. The computer is at least 1000,theres the rift, 300,the STEM 300,the Omni 350-500.