VR and body ownership: How to travel into another body

Trubadidudei
One Eyed Hopeful

VR and body ownership: How to travel into another body

Post by Trubadidudei »

I posted about this subject on the oculus developer forums, but I'm posting it here for some more exposure in hope that somebody with a rift will try some of this stuff out (I'm a medical student in the middle of exam period, so I haven't got time to play around with this even if I had a rift). The text is a bit long, but I've linked a youtube video that explains the background concept quite well, as well as a TL;DR at the end. Enjoy!

THE BACKGROUND, THE SCIENCE

As a former psychology student, I developed an interest in experiments that alter a persons perception of their own body. There are experiments out there that can alter a persons sense of body-ownership the point where they feel that they are floating outside of it (link)(video, relevant experiment starts at around 30.00), that they feel they are in posession of a completely new body (link), and even an extra limb! (link). What is striking about these experiments is that they are extremely easy to set up with a piece of equipment such as the Rift, and that they have an extremely profound effect. An hour ago or so when a post on /r/oculus reminded me of these studies, it suddenly struck me just how important this can be for VR.

First of all, here is a youtube video of some of these experiments:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oF8sQvnTlM

THE GENERAL IDEA