Aliens Colonial Marines... almost working

The place for all discussion of the Oculus Rift compatible open source 3D drivers.
LordJuanlo
Binocular Vision CONFIRMED!

Aliens Colonial Marines... almost working

Post by LordJuanlo »

Hi, I've been messing around with Vireio and Aliens Colonial Marines (Unreal Engine) and I got it nearly working. With gametype 600 or 601 I'm getting a reasonable 3D effect, but yaw makes everything shake (it tries to work) and the game is unplayable for my eyes.

Using Unreal Engine gametypes (200, 201, 202) I'm getting a strange mirror effect on left eye. Yaw seems to work better but it has some artifacts.

Using Source gametype I think I'm not getting stereo 3D.

I'm not sure what should be easier: trying to create a usable Unreal Engine profile (it seems logical) or trying to remove the shaking with gametype 600. But I don't think this can be done messing with the profiles, although I'm no expert.

If anyone else can keep trying it would be great. I feel a bit dizzy after so many experiments. These are the settings I've been using:

<profile game_name="Aliens Colonial Marines" game_exe="ACM.exe" game_type="600" separation="0.00608" convergence="0" swap_eyes="false" yaw_multiplier="25" pitch_multiplier="25" roll_multiplier="1" />

You can also get extra fov by editing \My Documents\My Games\Aliens Colonial Marines\PecanGame\Config\PecanEngine.ini. In [SystemSettings] you can edit the FOVOffset=30. Values from 50-60 look good to me (besides maxing out the in-game fov slider).
Comunidad española de RV / Spanish VR Community
Xanderduke
One Eyed Hopeful

Re: Aliens Colonial Marines... almost working

Post by Xanderduke »