Recently Joined, Tridef experience so far

Don't know the first thing about S-3D? Just bought your first pair of 3D glasses? Trying to figure out what to buy? Post HERE!
Killigath
Cross Eyed!

Recently Joined, Tridef experience so far

Post by Killigath »

Howdy everyone,

I'm new to MTBS i just signed up here and have been surfing around the forums. Love the site lots of good information here.
I got into 3D just recently when I realized my new 61" Samsung DLP" was 3D compatible. I found their link to the Tridef (DDD) software/glasses and was hooked. I got everything setup and working over the weekend and just wanted to share some of my experiences with everyone.

Before I go any further here is my setup:

Samsung HLT6187S 61" LED DLP (using DVI-to-HDMI cable, HDMI-3/DVI input)
P4 Quad-Core 2.51ghz / 2GB DDR3 1333 / EVGA 8800GTS 512mb
Running Dual Screens in Clone mode for 22" Samsung LCD and Samsung DLP set to 1920x1080
Tridef Starter Pack (2 glasses/emitter/softare) / WinDVD 9 Trial version / WoW and Crysis DDD Drivers

I initially had some codec issues for DVD playback but got them all resolved when I installed WinDVD 9.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. 2D to 3D DVD conversion -

This is less than stellar, however I knew going in that true 2D to 3D conversion would more than likely not be comparable to content that was made for 3D. The 3D effect makes the "whole screen" seem to pop out rahter than just certian things on screen. I found that the effect worked a little better on CGI animated movies than real video or at least it looks better to me.

2. 3D WMA Movies from http://www.3dtv.at/Movies/Index_en.aspx