Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
Post Reply
TiagoTiago
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:49 am

Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Post by TiagoTiago »

It's using just about half a gig on my machine. Why does it need so much?
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Post by CyberVillain »

Hi,

hm, could be a memoryleak in one of our plugins. After 30 minutes of running this simple script my memory usage is about 45 megs (About the same as when started).

Code: Select all

if starting:
	x = 0
	
x = x + 1

diagnostics.debug(x)
Which plugin do you use? Please post the script that uses this amount of ram
TiagoTiago
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:49 am

Re: Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Post by TiagoTiago »

45megs? Hm...

That's what i get for not reading the manual...
*facepalms*

Ok, here's what happened: I use Iarn's Taskinfo to keep an eye on running processes. What i assumed all these years to be the RAM usage of programs turns out to be the Virtual Adress space. According to the manual, the number that is how much of the RAM chips the process is indeed pretty close to what you said.


If VAs doesn't take space in the RAM then it isn't as big of a deal as i first assumed; but still, both the VAs and the regular memory usage of FreePIE are still much larger than GlovePIE (GlovePIE's RAM usage seems to be between about 3MB and about 16MB depending on what is going on, and it's VAs consumption seems to be between about 60MB and 70MB; meanwhile FreePIE's RAM usage goes in the 30-130MB range, and VAs 200-500MB range).
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Post by CyberVillain »

GlovePIE is written in unmanaged code, while FreePIE in managed code. Its larger memory usage is not necessarily a bad thing, it keeps that memory allocated for future usage but its not using it. Also if you run out of memory and other program needs it FreePIE will unallocate unused ram
TiagoTiago
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:49 am

Re: Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Post by TiagoTiago »

Ah, ok. And it won't cause other programs to use the swap file?
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Any chance of getting the RAM usage reduced?

Post by CyberVillain »

No it should not, for more info Google .NET memory management or similar
Post Reply

Return to “FreePIE”